We recently released RES Workspace Manager 2014 Service Release 1 (SR1) with some great new features. Today I am going to highlight one of those new features.
You could already restore user settings to a previous application setting in RES Workspace Manager. With this new release, we have enhanced the solution with new functionality to reset applications to the default configuration.
You can give both users and administrators permission to do this reset, and their permissions can be separate from each other.
Why Is This Important and What Is the ‘Default Configuration’?
So why did we do this? We received customer feedback that, in specific cases, offering a restore point to a past number of sessions was not enough. For example, an end user does not know which session to restore (“I don’t know when my app worked last”) or when the ‘working state’ of the application is not captured in a restore point (simply because it was too long ago). The option of resetting an application to its default configuration solves this problem.
When you select to restore an application to its default configuration, everything configured in the user settings for the application is deleted.
For example, let’s assume the following user setting exists for an application:
- Regtree: HKCU\Software\VendorX\ApplicationY
- Foldertree: %APPDATA%\ VendorX\ApplicationY
When you choose to reset this application to its default configuration, all the registry keys and values under HKCU\Software\VendorX\ApplicationY and all the files and folders under %APPDATA%\ VendorX\ApplicationY are deleted.
As you can probably tell, proceed with caution when using this option. When you remove registry keys and/or files and folders that an application requires to function properly, and there is no mechanism to recreate them, there is a chance that your application won’t function properly.
For safety, we don’t enable this option by default, and it’s implemented as part of the user settings restore wizard. Therefore, if you reset an application to its default configuration and get undesired results, you can undo these changes by going back to another restore point!
How to Configure
As you can see in the following image, when you open a specific application with enabled restore user settings feature, you have two checkboxes for Restore application to default configuration checkbox. This includes one for end users to be able to restore the application settings to default and one under management console users so the administrator can apply this restore point remotely.
Please note that the Restore application to default configuration option only applies when the zero profile mode is set to capture.
When you click the checkbox “Restore settings from previous sessions(s)”, you will receive the following warning.
You now have the application set up for restoring user settings to the default configuration.
How to Reset to Default Configuration as an Administrator
As administrator, you can restore the user settings from the User Sessions menu under Diagnostics, as shown in the following image.
You are now in the Restore user settings wizard where you can select the specific application for which you want to restore the user settings.
Click Next where you will access the window to go back to the default configuration of the application.
How to Reset to Default Configuration as a User
The restore as a user is basically the same as if you’re an administrator, except that you have to go to the Workspace Preferences, Other, and click on Restore.
You will end up in the same wizard as shown before, where you can restore the application to its default configuration.
Now You Try It
Now that we’ve explained how to reset an application to its default configuration, you can try in RES Workspace Manager 2014 and let us know how it goes. If you don’t currently have it, download a free trial today at http://www.ressoftware.com.