Michel RothWith the launch of RES ONE Workspace 2015, we announced our new browser independent website security feature. Whether it’s for security, compliance or productivity, sometimes enterprises have a need to control and track website access. With the growing diversification of browsers, IT needs to have controls in place over many browser types. Because many cloud services are web-based, IT can also track and control access to which web-based services users are accessing and when.

With enhancements in RES ONE Workspace, IT can blacklist and whitelist sites based on granular user contexts (including location, time of day) and track sites visited for any browser. This helps IT mitigate risks and gives them more visibility into sites and services being accessed by users. Let’s take a more detailed look.

Configuring Browser Independent Website Security

We’ve made implementing browser independent website security really easy. In the Management Console, you can now choose between a basic and advanced view of website security settings. The basic view presents the most commonly used options, while the advanced view offers the possibility to secure additional browser processes and logging exclusions, and also allows you to run website security in legacy mode instead.

A button at the bottom of the Settings tab at Security > Applications > Websites allows you to toggle between basic settings and advanced settings. Choosing basic settings hides the advanced settings that may not be relevant for you.

If Website Security is enabled, it automatically secures the following browsers: Internet Explorer, Google Chrome, Mozilla Firefox, and Opera. Secure additional browsers by specifying their process names in the additional processes field.

Website Security Enabled

Logging

At Security > Applications > Websites, on the Log tab, the Process column is added as the last column in the overview. In addition, you can now see by the icon in the log which browser was used.

Website Security Logging

The secured browsers that are visited by the user in a user session are also shown in the Usage Tracking Overview at Setup > Usage Tracking or at Diagnostics > Usage Tracking Overview.

End User Notifications

In user sessions, if a user tries to browse to a blocked website, a notification is displayed (bottom right corner) informing the user about the blocked site.

End User Notifications

Website Security Blacklisting

Note: if the option Notify user about security events (at Security > Applications > Websites on the Settings tab) is not selected, these notifications are not displayed in the user session.